Is Perfectionism Holding You Back?!

If you’re anything like me, you always want things to be PERFECT, right?! The fact is…perfectionism can damage your business and cause you to lose very valuable time. Perfectionism can have an especially strong impact on your success when you run your own business. A really important message I want to communicate is there’s really no such thing as perfect. So if you’re struggling to make it “just perfect” you’re directing your energy into something that’s impossible to achieve.
Perfectionism = Procrastination
“Perfection is really just an excuse to procrastinate.”
By seeking the all-illusive goal of perfection, it’s really just an avoidance method and an opportunity to keep from moving. What I’ve learned serves me better is to take consistent imperfect action as I work towards my objective. If I keep moving forward, I get clarity along the way. If I focus on the minutiae of the details being perfect, I stop and waste precious time.
Let me give you an example:
When I first started my blog, I wanted the best look, the greatest plug-ins, all the graphics, and I pulled out all the stops. I was even about to pay a company $2000 to do it for me, all because I wanted the look! Well…what I didn’t even think about was the content! I didn’t even know what I wanted to write about. I soon came to the realization that trying to make my blog look perfect was just a procratination tool so I didn’t have to write; I wasted a total of two weeks on this, and before I knew it, I was behind schedule!

So as a recovering perfectionist here are my lessons learned…

I just work to take action, even if it’s imperfect action and just get my projects out there.

I’m not afraid to ask for help. I’m comfortable admitting that I don’t know it all.

I let go and instead of completely controlling all the details.

Trust me, the satisfaction of getting it done (by letting go of your desire to be perfect) and getting your brilliance out into the world makes it worth the effort. You’ll free up your energy to tackle your big ideas and really get some momentum building in your business.
One response

  1. I enjoyed reading your blog and really appreciate your discussion about perfection, especially the connection to procrastination.

    I write about living a purposeful,fulfilling and meaningful life. I think you would appreciate it and invite you to check it.I think your readers would find it thought provoking as well. You can find it at findfulfillflourish.com.

    Steve

    September 21, 2010 at 2:07 am

Leave a Reply

